Training Day One

So, I’m not even going to give an excuse or whine about how busy I’ve been.  I’ve not written.  Nothing more to say.  So let’s get on with it.

Today was Day One in my training for the Azalea Sprint Triathlon in Wilmington, NC.  I was registered for it last year but due to events, I was unable to train or race so I was deferred to this year.

Ya’ll I am so out of shape.  I know we’ve talked about weight before but I get winded walking up stairs.  This is not my first Tri (my first Tri, I got bit by a dog, but that’s a different story), so I sort of know what to expect.  And, when I was deciding if I wanted to do a Tri, this was the one I went to watch, plus, we’re in Wilmington all the time, so I know the venue pretty well. But the out of shape-ness is worrisome.

Today was supposed to be an easy swim per my training plan.  Being that it was a Sunday, the earliest that I could go to a pool was 11am and I was afraid if I waited that long, I wouldn’t go.  A migraine will do that to you and since I was working on hour 24 of one, I knew that I needed to switch with tomorrow’s training in order to stay on track.  Unfortunately, tomorrow was running.

But I did it.  Every head pounding step of Week One, Day One for the Ease Into 5K plan.

2018 Azalea Sprint Tri–Here I Come!

 

Leave a comment